Nerd Hurdles
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

#34 Artsy Farts

+2
GAB
ro karen
6 posters

Go down

#34 Artsy Farts Empty #34 Artsy Farts

Post  ro karen Wed Oct 14, 2009 10:11 pm

Hey! Who are you calling "bi"? I'll have you know, I'm completely homo-alien alien

I have a strong love/hate relationship with the whole "Artsy Fartsy" world. I have a degree in English, which means that for 5 years (yes, 5...I was a "Super Senior," otherwise known as I didn't have enough money to pay for full semesters a couple of times, so I had to stretch my 4 years to 5), I spent hours a day analyzing, dissecting, nitpicking, and seeking meaning in everything...novels, poetry, music, movies, art, magazine ads...EVERYTHING. So I'm probably guilty of being one of those obtuse people who pontificated ad nauseum about the deep meanings of things like a blank white canvas or even the Charlie Brown ghosts as representations of art in its truest and rawest forms. Now, I'd just find myself to be a boring, bloviating douchewanger.

I do think it's a shame that people like my former self pose such a nerd hurdle for "normies." There's so much beauty out there (no, I'm not getting ready to quote American Beauty) that it's truly a crime when people avoid going to places like art museums or events like Nuit Blanche because they think only pretentious artsy fartsy people go there and blather insipidly about the art while sipping espresso and carrying their little puntable doggies in their purses or man bags. I can't imagine life without art. I can't imagine not visiting the National Gallery here in DC and visiting my favorite Rembrandt, or stopping in at the Tate when I'm in London. If you ignore the douchery of the artsy fartsy, I daresay anyone can find something in any art museum that will speak to them in ways that they couldn't have imagined art could speak to them.

Okay, time to refill my espresso cup Wink
ro karen
ro karen